Monday, 29 October 2018 14:40

News Update: Term 4 Week 3

In this week's edition:
-  Special Olympics Athletics Ribbon Event
-  Māori & Pacifica Awards Evening 2018
-  Otumoetai College Awarded the Blood Drop Trophy
-  Abbie Johnston Awarded Tauranga Hockey Women's Player of the Year

Latest Sports News

Special Olympics Athletics Ribbon Event 

This year the Special Olympics Athletics Ribbon Event was held at Tauranga Domain on Friday 26th October. 23 athletes out of the 28 athletes from Special Department competed. The students gained 12 Third places, 15 Second places and ten first places. Students record times and distances in events prior to the Special Olympics. They then compete in different divisions against other students who got similar times and distances for their events from school like Tauranga Boys College and Tarawera College in Kawerau.The following students gained first place after completing in at least three events:

  • Brayden Collins 9SHH 400m, Brianna McCarroll 9SHH 100m and Alice Sampson 9JLM Mini Javelin, Softball Throw
  • Haylee Thorpe 10MKL 100m, 200m, 3kg Shot Put, Brianna Newlove 10NTC Mini Javelin and Jack Phillip 10GNA 100m
  • Caitlin Fletcher 11ATB Softball Throw, Jared Francis 11GYH Softball Throw
  • Devron Lane Aporo 12PLR 100m and 200m
  • Joseph Harrison 13MCS Softball Throw, William Hales 13MCS Softball Throw and Nathan Thompson 100m Wheelchair Race
  • Well done to our relay team featuring Brayden Collins, Devron Lane Aporo, Joseph Harrison and Haylee Thorpe who finish a close second in the 100m shuttle relay.

Thanks to all the staff in the Special Needs Department for their help, Anthony Gadsbey, Juliet McGrath, Year 10 PE students and the SND students for being fabulous ambassadors for Otumoetai College on the day.

Māori & Pacifica Awards Evening 2018 

2018 has seen many achievement with our tauira at Te Kareti o Otūmoetai and we saw the bar raised higher again at our annual Māori and Pacifica Awards Evening.
Ka nui te mihi ki a Stacey Waaka our guest speaker, we wish you and the Black Ferns all the best for your end of year tour. Mihi tonu ki ngā mātua me ngā whanau kua tautokohia i te pō whakanuia, ka rawe!! And also to all our Kaiwhakahaere me ngā Kaimahi, 'ko te amorangi ki mua, ko te hapai ō ki muri'.
Lastly to all our award recipients, taonga well deserving of your achievements me o koutou mahi pai. 
Tuturu e whiti whakamaua kia tīna! Hui e! Taiki e!

Please click on link below to view the Awards Recipients list.

DownloadMaori & Pasifica Awards 2018 Recipients 

Otumoeati College Awarded the Blood Drop Trophy 

This year Otumoetai College has received the Blood Drop Award. This trophy is not given to the school who collects the most units of blood, but to the school that has shown heart, determination and has gone out of their way to make their schools blood drive a successful one.

Special thanks is given to the Hauora Committee who organised the event and helped out during the day. It is recognition of the hard work that went into planning the collection and their drive to get as many people as possible to donate.

Abbie Johnston Awarded Tauranga Hockey Women's Player of the Year 

Congratulations to Abbie Johnston (Sports Department staff member) who has been awarded Tauranga Hockey Women's Player of the Year 2018.

Abbie pictured with Principal Mr Russell Gordon and Clinton Butler from Tauranga Hockey.


Last modified on Tuesday, 20 November 2018 11:31